Out of Reach

September 16, 2016

Langston Hughes remains one of the true heroes of American literature, a black poet who remained in Harlem after many in its “Renaissance” had decamped for Europe or returned to the south. The house in which he lived for more than twenty years remains standing, though vacant, on East 127th Street.

Though the building became a New York City Landmark in 1981, it now faces an uncertain future, since the owner has left it poorly maintained after unsuccessful attempts to sell it for over $1 million. According to the New York Times, poet Renée Watson has created a non-profit group which plans to rent and eventually buy the property, hoping to make it a cultural center and incubator for young writers. Her efforts, though heroic, may not succeed because preservation is becoming “out of reach” for many New Yorkers, according to experts quoted in today’s story by reporter Samantha Schmidt.

It’s a familiar story, not only reminding us of the struggle Hughes and his colleagues endured in Harlem during the early twentieth century, but also of countless efforts to save properties associated with marginalized or minority histories throughout America. Watson said that she felt like “our stories are being erased,” even if unintentionally, by the wheels of progress. In New York, as this blog has consistently shown, wealth and gentrification have threatened or destroyed many potential landmark properties, especially during the past thirty years.

Rather than lamenting their loss, our best hope is to find effective economic strategies for the reuse of these historic sites, eschewing the now tired process of embalming them and creating museums that cannot attract a paying clientele.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Out of Reach”

  1. I have been browsing online more than three hours today,
    yet I never found aany interesting article lke yours.

    It is pretty worth enhough for me. In my opinion, if all
    web owners and bloggers made golod content as you did, the
    net will be a lot more useful than ever before.|
    I could not refrain from commenting. Very well written!|
    I will right away seiz your rss as I can not inn finding your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Please let me recognise in order that I may just subscribe.

    Thanks.|
    It iis appropriate time to make some plans for the fuuture and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I want tto suggest you some
    interesting things or tips. Perhaps youu could write next articles
    referring to this article. I want to read more things about
    it!|
    It’s the best time to make some plans for thhe future annd it is tme to be happy.
    I have learn this post and if I could I want to
    recommend you sme attention-grabbing things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you could write next articles relating to this article.
    I desire to learn more things about it!|
    I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours lately, but I never found any fascinating article like
    yours. It is beautiful worth enough for me. In my view, if all
    wweb owners and bloggers made good content as you probably
    did, the net will probably be much more useful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its nice discussion regarding this paragraph at this
    place at this webpage, I have read all that, so at this tme me also
    commenting at this place.|
    I am sure this post has touched all the internet visitors,
    itss really really good paragraph on building up new webpage.|
    Wow, this aticle is pleasant, my younger sister is analyzing such things, therefore I
    am going to let knlw her.|
    bookmarked!!, I really like your blog!|
    Way cool! Somme very valid points! I appreciate you writing this
    write-up plus the rest of the website iis very good.|
    Hi, I do think this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may revisit nce again since i have bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be ricch
    and continue to help other people.|
    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of thnis blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get thwt “perfect balance” between user friendliness and
    appearance. I must say you’ve done a great job with this.
    In addition, the blog loadrs super fast for me on Safari.

    Outstanding Blog!|
    These are truly great ideas in about blogging. You havge touched some good things here.
    Any way keep up wrinting.|
    Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever
    work and exposure! Keep up the great wofks guys I’ve included you
    guys too our blogroll.|
    Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with
    us so I came tto look it over. I’m definitely loving thee information. I’m book-marking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and wonderful design.|
    I like what you guys tend to be upp too. This kind of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the super wprks guys I’ve included you guys too blogroll.|
    Hey would you mind stating which blog pllatform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’mlooking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!|
    Hi would youu min letting me know which hosting company you’re using?
    I’ve loaed your blog in 3 different internet browsers and
    I must sayy thyis blog loawds a lot faster
    then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting
    provider att a fai price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!|
    I lovce iit when folks get together and share opinions.
    Great website, keep it up!|
    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact waas a
    amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeale frfom you!
    However, how caan we communicate?|
    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Chrome.
    I’m not sure if this iss a formatting issue or something
    to do with web bfowser compatibility but I thought I’d post too let
    you know. The design look great though! Hope you geet
    the issue fixed soon. Many thanks|
    This iss a topic that iis near to my heart… Best wishes!

    Exactly where are your contact details though?|
    It’s very simple to find out any topic on net ass compared to textbooks,
    as I found this paragraph at this website.|
    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time
    locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendeations for your blog yoou might be intrested inn
    hearing. Either way, great site and I look forwar to seeing it improve oer time.|
    Hola! I’ve been following your website for some time now and finally ggot the bravery to go ahead and give you a shouht oout
    from Lubbofk Texas! Just wanted to tll you keep up the good job!|
    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears att work so I decided to
    check out your blog on my iphone duuring lunch break.
    I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded
    on my cell phone .. I’m nott even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very good site!|
    Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to kbow so much about this, like you wrote thee e boolk in it or something.
    I feel that you can do with a few percent to force thee message house a bit,
    bbut other than that, this is magnificent blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll certainly be back.|
    I visited many stes however the audio quality for audio songs present at
    this weeb page is actually marvelous.|
    Hi there, i read your blog from time to tije and i own a similar one and i wwas just wondering if
    you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any
    help is very much appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very helpful advce within this article!
    It’s the little changes that make the greatest changes.
    Maany thanks for sharing!|
    I truly love our site.. Great colors & theme. Did you create tis web
    site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own site and would love to
    find out where yoou got this from or exactly wat the thbeme is named.
    Thanks!|
    Howdy! This post could nott be written much better! Going
    through this post reminds me oof my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I’ll forward this post
    to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.

    Many thanks foor sharing!|
    Amazing! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely differnt subject butt
    it has pretty muhch the same layout and design. Superb choice of colors!|
    There’s definately a lot to know about this subject.
    I really lik aall oof tthe points you have made.|
    You made some good points there. I looked on the internet too fiknd out more about the issue andd found most individuals will go
    along with your views on this web site.|
    Hi, I log on to your blog on a regular basis. Your writing style is awesome, keep it up!|
    I just couuld not go away your website prior to suggesting that I really loved the standard info a person provide for your visitors?
    Is gonna be back frequently to check uup on new posts|
    I wanted to thank you for this very good read!! I definitely loved every little bit
    of it. I’ve got you book-marked to check out new stuff you post…|
    Hi, just wanted to tell you, I enjoyed this post.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!|
    Hello, I enjoy reading through your article post. I like to write a little
    comment to support you.|
    I always spent my half an hour to reead this website’s posts
    all the time along with a cup of coffee.|
    I always emailed this weeb ssite post pabe to all my contacts,
    as if like to read it after that my links will too.|
    My developer is trying to convince me tto move to .net from PHP.

    I have always dispiked the idea because off the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a number of websites for about a year and am worried about switching
    to another platform. I have heard fantastic things abut blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content injto it?

    Anny help would be greatly appreciated!|
    Hi! I could have swortn I’ve besn to this blog before but after going through many
    of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m
    definitely delighted I came across it and I’ll be bookmarkig it and checking back often!|
    Wonderful work! This is tthe kind of info that should be shared across the internet.
    Disgrace oon Google for now not positioning this publish upper!
    Comee on over and discuss with my site . Thank you =)|
    Heya i am for the first time here. Ifoound this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope too give something back and help oghers like you aided me.|
    Howdy, I do believe your web site could possibly be having internet browser compatibility problems.

    When I look at your web site in Safari, it looks fkne but when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you wiith a quick heads up!

    Apart frdom that, wonderful website!|
    A peraon essentially assist to make critically
    articles I’d state. This is the first time I frequented youjr weeb page annd
    thus far? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular post extraordinary.

    Great activity!|
    Heya i aam foor the first time here. I came across
    this bard and I to find It truly helpful & it helped mme out much.
    I hope to give somkething back and aid others such as you helped me.|
    Hey there! I just want to offer you a huge thumbs upp for your great info you’ve got right here on this post.
    I’ll be coming back to your web site for more soon.|
    I all the time used too study poost in news
    papers but noww as I am a user of web therefore from now I am using
    net for articles, thanks to web.|
    Your means of telling everything in this paragraph is truly fastidious,
    all be capable of effortlessly be aware of it,Thanks a
    lot.|
    Hello there, I found your blog by means of Google even as
    ssearching for a similar matter, your site came up, itt seems great.
    I have bookmarkled it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply changed into aware of your blogg
    thru Google, and located that it’s truly informative.
    I am goinng to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful in the event you conmtinue this in future.
    Numerous other people shall be benefited out of your writing.

    Cheers!|
    I’m curious to find out what blog system you are utilizing?

    I’m having some small security problems with my lstest blog and I’d like to
    find something more safeguarded. Do you have anny suggestions?|
    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paod theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up thee excellent quality writing, it’s rare
    to see a great blog like this one today.|
    I’m rewlly inspired with your writing talents and also with thhe format in your blog.
    Is that this a paid topic or did yyou customize it your self?
    Anyway sttay up the excellent high quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a
    great weblog like this one these days..|
    Hello, Neat post. There is a problem along with your site
    in web explorer, would test this? IE still is the market chief and a large component
    of folks will pass over your fantastic writiing due
    to this problem.|
    I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learniing more or understanding more.
    Thanks ffor magnificent info I was looking for this info
    for my mission.|
    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “return thhe favor”.I’m attempting to find things to improve
    mmy site!I suppose its okk to use a few of your ide\

Leave a Reply

